Fun to Spare at the Hunger Strike!

STRIKE! The moment when the bowling ball hits all ten pins and excitement fills in the air. On Friday February 20th, teams from all over the Hays County community participated in our 4th Annual Hunger Strike bowling tournament. The Hunger Strike was my first event as an intern at the Hays County Food Bank, and it helped open my eyes to how the community comes together to help others. I have been struggling these past few years on deciding what I wanted to do with my life, and when I saw those smiling faces, I saw a sense of clarity: I am meant for serving others.

boko and me

Boko and I getting ready for the Hunger Strike to begin

As I walked into Sunset Bowling Lanes, I felt the warmth of excitement throughout the room and it was a rewarding experience. As soon as I got there we got to work setting up. With awesome planning from Mallory and Jane, setting up was a smooth task. I was in charge of taking pictures to capture the moments.  I found that task easy to do because all of the teams were full of energy. My favorite thing to take picture of was when all the teams were high-fiving each other and dancing in celebration. I could tell everyone was having fun, even though there may have been more gutter balls than strikes. Teams were dressed up in some cute outfits; The Little Guys Movers even had a taco on the team! We also had an appearance by the Chick-Fil-A’s Cow and Texas State’s Boko!

blog pics 2

Gary Job Corps                                                 Little Guy Movers                 Coldwell Bankers United with Chick-Fil-A Cow

Everyone was full of positive energy, as well as food. I have to admit the food was delicious! We had cinnamon rolls from Whataburger, wings from Plucker’s, cookies from Chick-Fil-A, sandwiches from Jimmy John’s, pizza from Gumby’s, and yogurt samples from Yogurt in Love. I forgot to eat breakfast that day, so when I saw the variety of food, I automatically began to indulge. I probably gained about 3 pounds! Overall, it was an awesome experience; the best part was just sitting back and observing everyone having fun. I see how much it takes to plan an event like Hunger Strike and it makes me excited about event planning for nonprofits. I learned a lot of tips and can’t wait to assist with Foodstock on May 2nd, 2015 and the CROP Hunger Walk on April 12th, 2015. Come join us! It will be tons of fun!

Hunger STRIKE 3

Broadway Bank celebrates a strike

-Tabitha Espinoza, HCFB intern spring 2015

Leave a Reply

