July Foodstock Event- From the Eyes of an Intern Pt. 2

The sight of dark clouds by the San Marcos Courthouse couldn’t stop us while we set up for last month’s Foodstock event.

Around 9 a.m. on July 27, volunteers and staff had a tent at the farmers market on the Square to collect fresh produce and canned goods.

Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 9.13.34 AM

Local San Marcos kids enjoyed wearing the fruits and vegetables costumes while walking around the farmers market drawing in donators and promoting Foodstock.

The live music at Foodstock brought out the sunshine and got everyone dancing.  Between the dunking booth and salsa contest, the Folklorico dancers and firefighters, everyone was kept entertained.

My very first Monday of work I attended a Foodstock meeting and finally seeing it come together was rewarding. Being behind the scenes was probably just as fun and enjoyable as being at the event!

I had the chance to make some of the signs for Foodstock, and by far my favorite sign to make was the FoodStock Sponsors poster. I never knew I was so crafty!

As my time at the food bank comes to an end, I want to thank the staff at the food bank for welcoming me with open arms, the volunteers for showing me how it’s all done and the community for making me fall in love with this city all over again.

By: Sequoia Owens

Leave a Reply

