From the Eyes of an Intern

When your supervisor tells you, “Today your task is to float the river.” You know it’s going to be a great day! 

Yesterday was the official start of my internship, and I have to say it was pretty awesome.

June is National Fresh Fruits and Vegetables Month, and to kick off the month I had the opportunity to raise awareness to the importance of including enough fruits and vegetables in one’s diet. Myself and two other interns dressed up in fruit and vegetable costumes and floated the river.

Image

We had a blast! The photos we produced definitely sum up the great time we had trying to wiggle our way into inner tubes and cluster all together in our costumes, it was a sight to see. 

ImageIt was a really nice way to ease into the internship. The first day of a new job usually consists of a lot of stress and anxiety, but having the chance to laugh and get to know all of my co-workers has made the process so much easier.

Although I know my days as an intern won’t always entail floating through San Marcos, I can tell that I’m going to love working for Hays County Food Bank, I love it already.  I’m having great experiences and learning a lot about what goes into running a nonprofit. Planning events, interacting with the community, all while helping hundreds of people is just the perfect job to me. I can’t wait to see how the rest of the summer pans out.

Leave a Reply

